Pedal Problems

When my right pedal broke, I thought it would be a straightforward matter to replace it.  Wrong! For some reason my right pedal, unlike the left, (yes I know, odd pedals) was a different size to the usual and too big for my pedal spanner.

So it had to be an adjustable, and this didn’t give me enough leverage….

Give me a lever long enough…..

Putting Archimedes to the test meant extending the length of my lever:

This gave me a six foot long spanner, which still didn’t do the job …

Admitting defeat I headed off to my LBS  (Local Bike Shop) which on this occasion (I have a choice of LBS’s) was Supreme Cycles in Crewe. Returning an hour later  they had succeeded – I didn’t ask how.  Probably had the right tool for the job.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Supreme Cycles have only once turned down a job for me, when the seat post on this same bike was well and truly attached to the frame and wouldn’t budge.  I had to sort that out myself, and the solution involved lumphammers, drilling, and very long levers….

 

About abikerideaday

I like riding my bike about for work and for fun. Having a blog lets me sound off and generally express things. If you like my blog, please pass the address on to other cyclists in the area!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pedal Problems

  1. Chandra says:

    I have resorted to using a long pipe over a spanner sometimes. I have also had some luck with WD-40 to loosen any rust and grime.

    Glad you got it sorted out!

    Peace 🙂
    Chandra

    PS. I notice the cycle shop is a Dawes delay – Hooray!

  2. Thanks Chandra, I tried plenty of WD 40 without any luck. I think the problem was the adjustable spanner being slightly ‘loose’ so with enough force it slipped and started to round the nut. At one point I started to think I’d have to get a new chainwheel….

Leave a Reply

