Off the Beaten Track

Cycling around in this part of the world, it is easy to think you’ve seen everything.  And yet just off the main roads there is so much more hidden away.  Today was another hot day and I set off to find something I’d seen on Google Maps:

What you see here is Sandbach International Airport, otherwise known as the Cheshire Microlight Centre.   You reach it down a long gravel track with signs warning of racehorses and low-flying planes.  I knew I was heading the right way when I saw this little plane circling about:

Eventually I found the terminal building rather charmingly situated in the middle of a potato field.

The leaflet I picked up claims that these little aircraft can fly at 60 mph for 5 hours, so you really could take an international flight from here,  with four countries within range, or six if you are a little Englander.

I have a strong feeling that the noise would get to me; after all one of the great pleasures of cycling is the silence.

A little way away and down another farm track I got to see this sand and gravel quarry, which is right on the Sandbach to Congleton Road, but completely invisible from it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I don’t know how sand quarrying works, but if the water represents the worked-out section and the last bit of sand in the middle is being extracted, then maybe one day this will be the new Astbury Mere with swimming and lovely white sandy beaches.

I found myself wondering whether you could dig anywhere in the area and find sand, and remove it to make a lake…..

About abikerideaday

I like riding my bike about for work and for fun. Having a blog lets me sound off and generally express things. If you like my blog, please pass the address on to other cyclists in the area!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Off the Beaten Track

  1. hazel close says:

    Came upon your blogs by chance looking up The Rompimg Donkey .,and as an ex pat of cheshire now in north wales really like your observations and lovely photos . Just wonderered have you read any Fletcher Moss travels …he cycled out from Didsbury on day trips in the early part of this century to voisit places of interest and historic homes .

Leave a Reply

