Spot the Mistake

At last some genuinely hot summer weather, which reminded me of my days in South Africa.  So my thoughts turned to wild life safaris.

Anybody who knows thwe Congleton area may have passed the farm that has lots of exotic wild animals.  Can you spot the odd one out?

Well done if you spotted that the panda was the only genuine one!

If you know where this farm is, you will know that I had a very hilly ride.  Here is the elevation profile thanks to Map My Ride:

If that isn’t good training for my tour of Holland then I don’t know what is!

Using Naismith’s rule, which converts climb into distance, (admittedly for hikers) the  1056 ft gain in height is equal to 8 times that, ie 8448 ft of distance, which is  1.6 miles.  This is clearly wrong!  The climb I did was worth a LOT MORE than 1.6 extra miles of distance!

I imagine there must be a cycling equivalent of Naismith’s rule, and I shall watch out for it, or perhaps get my A-level maths students to work out a formula.

About abikerideaday

I like riding my bike about for work and for fun. Having a blog lets me sound off and generally express things. If you like my blog, please pass the address on to other cyclists in the area!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spot the Mistake

  1. rob says:

    I don’t know if I’m missing something. Did you mean llama, not panda?

Leave a Reply

