Free at Last

Free at Last, Free at Last
Praise God Almighty
We’re free at last.

Well the end of term has finally come, and it made me think of these famous words.  You can see them spoken with great passion here.

Now that little black boys and girls can hold hands with little white boys and girls in Alabama, I wonder whether a new great advocacy is required so that they can ride their bikes about without being killed by a speeding car?

The Dutch famously demonstrated to Stop the Kindermoordt  –  and succeeded.  Now decades later they have the best infrastructure for cyclists, and therefore for children, in the world.

On a happier note, my new-found freedom led me to the junction of the A500 and the M6, where one often comes across interesting parked abnormal loads.

What do you think it is?  No, I have no idea either.

My plans for the summer include a bike tour up the Channel Coast through France, Belgium and Holland, where I’ll be able to try out the famous bike routes.  Over the next few weeks I need to get ready for this and assemble various bits of gear.  But don’t worry, I shall resist the urge to ramble on about the relative merits of brands A, B, and C.  Something that does the job, and if I don’t have to go and buy it, so much the better!

About abikerideaday

I like riding my bike about for work and for fun. Having a blog lets me sound off and generally express things. If you like my blog, please pass the address on to other cyclists in the area!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Free at Last

  1. Chandra says:

    I wonder if that could be a turbine.

    You got some great plans for bike tours. Awesome!

    Peace 🙂

Leave a Reply

