Falser, Richer, Wronger

This post is quite obviously going to be about the Olympics, so feel free to leave at once, especially if you love them and think it’s just great that they are coming to England, sorry I mean London, and that this is a once-in-a lifetime opportunity to go and see the best.

Plenty of other people have pointed out the ridiculous fact that this supposed celebration of sport is going to feed you McDonalds and Coke, restrict your freedom, and charge you extortionate prices to see events so that crooked dealers can make a lot of money.  Not to mention the closure of cycle lanes, (so that corrupt officials can zoom along in their Oh-so-Green chauffeur-driven cars)   and trains refusing to carry bikes!  This would be hilarious if it weren’t so infuriating.

The Olympics look to me like a suitable metaphor for everything that is wrong.  Government pandering to big companies and unaccountable elites, the media encouraging the whole process,  politicians lying through their teeth about the wonderful heritage from the games. (Heritage means Olympic Village becoming bijou apartments where Russian criminals can keep their mistresses with convenient transport links)

Please don’t think I’m being negative just because my own modest travel plans (Get my bike to Dover to get the hell out) were messed about by Southern trains suddenly decreeing no bikes – are they planning to squeeze passengers into the bike spaces?  No, my objections go a lot deeper than that.

I read about a florist in London who was threatened with legal action because she made a display of flowers in the shape of the Olympic Rings!  So I have prepared my defence in advance:

Those are not the Olympic Rings, your honour, those are the Anti-Olympic Rings.

If I don’t blog again for a while it will mean I’ve been arrested by the troops who’ve been drawn in to provide ‘security’ at the games.  Our armed forces are reduced to enforcing the No Drinks except Coca-Cola rule!

Sorry, must go, the OLYPIC FLAME is passing by and I wouldn’t want to miss it…..

 

 

About abikerideaday

I like riding my bike about for work and for fun. Having a blog lets me sound off and generally express things. If you like my blog, please pass the address on to other cyclists in the area!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

