Five Buildings on my Way Home

It’s a hard life, doing a bike blog. Always out on my bike, riding the lanes and looking for something interesting. Ambling along on a bike when I could be sitting in my car in a traffic jam!

Leaving work today with the luxury of no time pressure, I cycled home by a less-than-direct route, and stopped to look at some buildings along the way.  Going down Mill Lane I came across the old mill:

This now appears to be a house or perhaps apartments.  Once not so long ago this was an industrial building drawing power from the stream via a waterwheel.

The picture shows all that is left of this renewable energy source, look at the staircase going nowhere for a potent metaphor of how we went wrong!

Passing Malkin’s Bank I got to the Romping Donkey, A lovely country pub that has gone the way of many others and is being demolished:

It was quite touching to read the words of the new landlady in 2009 who was full of hope and optimism about making a go of this pub.

I can only imagine that punters like me decided that paying two pounds for a soft drink was a serious rip-off and we would rather have the same drink at home for one tenth of the price.

A bit further on I came across this tin tabernacle or church made of corrugated iron.  This one used to be in Alsager but got sold off and moved to Hassall Green.  I must confess that I didn’t at first believe that this was Church of England  – surely the established church would build in stone and this must be a puritan or a non-conformist or even a primitive methodist church?   But no, it seems that our national State Church actually constructed churches out of corrugated iron, and this as the British Empuire was at its height.

These days this church seems to be mainly a point of interest to visit when you are travelling along the canal by barge.

Just down the road is Station House, on the  Salt Line.  Once, I imagine, the stationmaster would have lived here as trains filled with salt or passengers would pass by.  Now walkers and cyclists have taken their place.

It struck me that all these buildings had seen a radical change of use, so I made a slight detour to see this bandstand, which has not changed since the day it was built, (by me) about 12 years ago, for Highfields School in Alsager. I’m pleased to see that it’s still in use and looking good:

A final stop at the co-op for food and a bottle of Scotch, and then home!

 

 

 

About abikerideaday

I like riding my bike about for work and for fun. Having a blog lets me sound off and generally express things. If you like my blog, please pass the address on to other cyclists in the area!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

