Failed Canal Ride

I pride myself on being a competent navigator, so it was a little disconcerting today to set off on a canal ride and then fail to gain the towpath.

Setting off down the Old Knutsford Road I came across this access point but decided it looked too much like hard work to get my bike over the stile and up the steps.

There’ll be a way on from the main road was my wishful thought as I looped around, only to find that I was about four metres from the canal but with no way down except to jump:

Heading back through the houses of Church Lawton I knew there was an access point because I’ve come off the canal there before now.  Should have paid more attention.  I have a reasonable sense of direction and it told me the canal should be reachable down this road:

No joy there, and as I wandered about in frustration I had a sudden though slight sinking feeling as my rear tyre gently exhaled all its air.

So I walked home having failed to get onto the canal.  My route produced this squiggle when plotted on Map My Ride:

It turns out I was within metres of my goal which I eventually found with the help of Google Streetview:

The path to the canal goes off just before the school… the only consolation I had was in walking home and noticing how Church Lawton School (I think that’s what it was) is getting refurbished. This rather lovely Victorian building is no doubt becoming a house;  I’m glad to see it being saved but can’t help being sad that another piece of public infrastructure is going private.

Iwould never have noticed this if I hadn’t missed my canal path and got a puncture!

About abikerideaday

I like riding my bike about for work and for fun. Having a blog lets me sound off and generally express things. If you like my blog, please pass the address on to other cyclists in the area!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

