Blue Sky Thinking

I am not a great fan of American business-speak, so I try not to think outside the box, or to be proactive.  I never ever say from here on in, and I don’t like to get more bang for my buck.  I definitely  don’t head anything up.   I don’t find any of this a big ask.

But Blue Sky Thinking!  Now that I can relate to, or at least I could yesterday morning at 7.15 a.m. when I looked up on my ride to work, and saw this:

This will puzzle you if you happen to be reading this blog in South Africa, or the USA, or Saudi Arabia (Hi there al Qaida! Allahu Akbar!)  or Australia….. or any number of places where it is perfectly normal to look up and see blue sky.

But British readers will know exactly what I mean.  Especially this summer, officially the wettest since the year of Noah and the great diluvian event.  The probability of looking up and seeing not a single cloud has been about the same as the probability of seeing more bikes than cars on your morning commute.

The BTC ratio has been of interest to me lately.  As an experiment I counted the first hundred vehicles to pass me on my way to work the other day.  The Bike To Car  (BTC) ratio was 3:97.     So 97% of traffic was cars!  This is a scary statistic that needs to change, for the benefit of the planet as well as the poor lazy fat people sitting in traffic jams in their cars.

But – wait for it – on my bluesky morning ride the BTC ratio was ONE TO ONE !!!!!!

Listeners to Radio 4 will know that since the demise of the Queens’ English Society it is now OK to use lots of exclamation marks and put apostrophe’s in the wrong place without fear of castigation.  But yes !!!!!  With only slight statistical economy with the truth, ie by only counting for the three miles of Holmshaw Lane, I managed to pass exactly one car and one bike on my way to work!

A 50% modal share is what even the Dutch and the Danes would give their eye teeth to achieve.

Since that morning normal service has resumed, and today the BTC ratio was 4:96 and the weather was awful.   But the Saudi moment was good while it lasted.

About abikerideaday

I like riding my bike about for work and for fun. Having a blog lets me sound off and generally express things. If you like my blog, please pass the address on to other cyclists in the area!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

