Things You Miss Going by Car

I’ve driven up Cedar Avenue many times, on the way to or from the allotment shop.  But doing the same trip on a bike I suddenly noticed this rather lovely wall.

Stone, brick, iron and wood all combined .  And yet I’ve never noticed.  Driving a car forces you to look at the road.  Or perhaps I am just unobservant.  But it seems logical that if you travel at a quarter the speed of a car, you will notice four times as much.

Later the same day I was out for an evening ride and saw this magnificent sunset.  It’s not that I would have missed this in the car – who could miss a sight like this? – but I wouldn’t have been out in the car at all: After all, I don’t think   Oh I’ll go for a little evening drive tonight…  the bike on the other hand just calls out to be ridden on a fine June evening.

Speaking of Fine June evenings, they have been a rarity this year and this was the first decent cycling evening for a week or two.  Perhaps July will be fine!

About abikerideaday

I like riding my bike about for work and for fun. Having a blog lets me sound off and generally express things. If you like my blog, please pass the address on to other cyclists in the area!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

