Putting Hazards on the map

My very enjoyable route to work is sometimes less safe than I would like because the passing traffic is very fast and I am often far out in the lane.  After many years experience I am not shy about holding my position in the road, and sometimes forcing vehicles behind to wait for a suitable place to overtake.

On some sections of the route I end up really far out because of the road surface:

This is so poor that I think the regular drivers are aware of why cyclists may be out wide, and I have to say I usually experience patience and courtesy from the majority of drivers. There are always one or two though who feel that slowing down would be some sort of impairment of their masculinity.

The Times campaign to improve condions for us includes the Cyclists Hazards Map on which you can record hazards and accidents.  Alsager shows a number of collisions, with a hot spot being just outside Indian Spice!

About abikerideaday

I like riding my bike about for work and for fun. Having a blog lets me sound off and generally express things. If you like my blog, please pass the address on to other cyclists in the area!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

