A ride down memory lane

Something about my children growing up can make me nostalgic for when they were little.  Doesn’t every parent of teenagers know this feeling?  Cycling parents remember fondly when their kids looked forward to going on a bike ride.

So I headed off in the direction of Audley, which is near our old home in Miles Green.  Cycling down this road:

This rather windy lane with its hedges, bends, and fast traffic is avoided by a lot of cyclists, although I have to say the majority of drivers are extremely cautious when passing me along here.  I instinctively ride well out in the middle of the lane, not out of awkwardness but because I will be seen sooner by a vehicle coming round a bend behind me.  Also, that vehicle will be a lot less inclined to try and squeeze past if that requires it to pull right over onto the wrong side of the road!

From Audley riding down Park Lane reminded me of many a family ride.  After a couple of miles the road becomes a track and eventually crosses the A500 at this bridge, where the children spent long stretches waving at lorries and scoring points if they waved back, with bonuses for flashing lights or beeps.

Next to this bridge there used to be a lovely unfenced little wilderness with patches of coconut-smelling broom,  plenty of blackberries, and paths for hide-and-seek.  Unfortunately this lovely spot has disappeared and become this:

Intuition tells me there may be a story behind this enclosure.  Is this the tale of a hard-pressed farmer having to squeeze value out of every acre of pasture?  It hardly seems likely in prosperous Cheshire.  Were local youths congregating and leaving litter?  Did somebody object to strangers on the almost -private approach road?  Somebody must know!

Thank you to all who have continued to check this blog from time to time, I hope to be more regular in future!

About abikerideaday

I like riding my bike about for work and for fun. Having a blog lets me sound off and generally express things. If you like my blog, please pass the address on to other cyclists in the area!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

