Getting Wintry in the Morning

Cyclists measure the temperature not in degrees but in clothing. Today was three layers, hat and gloves.  A bit colder and it will be hat, gloves and scarf.  So far I’ve never needed scarf and balaclava, which is just as well as I don’t have one – now there’s an idea for my Christmas present list.

My commute to work is a curious blend of exposure to the elements and disengagement from them, because cycling along with earphones and the radio on it is possible to miss great sections of the journey and suddenly find myself a few miles down the road.

Sometimes the environment simply refuses to be ignored.  This sky was like that.

Winter has definite compensations!  I’m almost looking forward to getting some snow to test my resolve to go on cycling through the winter.

About abikerideaday

I like riding my bike about for work and for fun. Having a blog lets me sound off and generally express things. If you like my blog, please pass the address on to other cyclists in the area!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting Wintry in the Morning

  1. rob says:

    Did I understand that you ride at dusk with earphones and a radio on? IMHO that is negligently suicidal!

Leave a Reply

