Poems to Recite while Cycling #1

I hope I am not the only cyclist who recites to themself   (himself?  him/herself?  themselves?   oneself?  myself? ) poems to while away the boring bits of a journey?  If you can get all the way through, say Kubla Khan in slow declamatory fashion a good two or three miles could slip by. And there is the bonus that out on the road you can recite out loud without the danger of members of your family throwing cushions at your head.

Here is one that seems just right for a long and arduous bike tour provided you have your accomodation booked and aren’t planning to camp.

                                    Uphill

   Does the road wind up-hill all the way?
        Yes, to the very end.
Will the day’s journey take the whole long day?
        From morn to night, my friend.

But is there for the night a resting-place?
        A roof for when the slow dark hours begin.
May not the darkness hide it from my face?
        You cannot miss that inn.

Shall I meet other wayfarers at night?
        Those who have gone before.
Then must I knock, or call when just in sight?
        They will not keep you standing at that door.

Shall I find comfort, travel-sore and weak?
        Of labor you shall find the sum.
Will there be beds for me and all who seek?
        Yea, beds for all who come.

                                                   Christina Rosetti

Nice steady rhythm there for a long haul up a climb like this one, which is not on my commute in Cheshire:

On reflection I think that something a little longer may be needed for this climb, Paradise Lost perhaps.  Please send suggestions for further bikeable poems.

About abikerideaday

I like riding my bike about for work and for fun. Having a blog lets me sound off and generally express things. If you like my blog, please pass the address on to other cyclists in the area!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Poems to Recite while Cycling #1

  1. Grace says:

    Did you ever get a respoonse re more bikeable poems?
    I see you kept up posting for Nov but have not posted recently – can’t say I blame you,it must be hard to keep thinking of fresh things!
    The lack of pedestrain access from Edwards Way is absolutely shocking. I hope it woul dnot be apporved today but who knows.

Leave a Reply

