It was in the Bleak November

A Bikeride a Day is all very well, and usually pure pleasure, with crisp air and grey dawns and dusks, but setting off in the dark and returning in the dark means that it’s getting hard to take pictures.  This morning I found myself willing the sun to rise faster, like King Canute, or Knut as you have to call him these days.  But I claim the right to succeed him in the doomed attempt to impose his will on the world, after all what else is a blog?

Having failed to hasten the earth’s rotation I took this shot of the pre-sunrise, which is surely pregnant with the possibility of great visual drama:

I suppose the answer to winter darkness is to take moody pictures of urban landscapes. It’s the urban bit that’s the problem: Alsager is not an urb.  It’s not really a village either, (too big) nor do I think of it as a town  (too small).  Alsager calls out for a new word to capture its not-quite-a-town-ness.

Reading the many great Bike Blogs that are out there makes me envy the city riders with their multiplicity of routes, their sights to see, their interactions with irate drivers, and their long queues of vehicles to sail past. I wonder if any of them envy me my rural lanes and peaceful commute to work?

About abikerideaday

I like riding my bike about for work and for fun. Having a blog lets me sound off and generally express things. If you like my blog, please pass the address on to other cyclists in the area!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

