Delivering the Sunday Papers

Alsager, like all urban jungles, has an insatiable appetite for news, and members of my own family have the vital task of ensuring that no resident is left ignorant of which soap star is falling out with which Towie, a recent word denoting people who walk the towpath.

With one such member away in the far north, it fell to me to deliver the papers, and I discovered that the bike trailer was just the right size to hold the two piles of papers that comprised the round.

Now it occurred to me that as I possess the only trailer in Alsager, how do all the papers get delivered?  The newsagents lend out a few trolleys; a few brave souls deliver on bikes with a massive bag over their shoulder; and rather too many get driven around by their parents!   I confess to having done this as well, and hang my head in shame.

Get those youngsters out of cars and onto bikes! With trailers!  Residents of Alsager, insist that your paper comes carbon-free!  Threaten to stop the Christmas gift if cars do your delivery!   The greening of Alsager has to start some time, and it may as well be on Sunday morning.

Yesterday’s quiz question:   The white thing was Jodrell Bank.

About abikerideaday

I like riding my bike about for work and for fun. Having a blog lets me sound off and generally express things. If you like my blog, please pass the address on to other cyclists in the area!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

