Lovely Autumn Light

Working late this week and cycling home in the dark, I’ve been wondering how to keep getting pictures.  So it was a treat to get away today just as the sun got low enough to turn everything gorgeously autumnal. Suddenly my regular route home seemed so much more picturesque.

The only busy bit of my ride is part of the Wheelock bypass where it crosses a long bridge over the Trent and Mersey Canal and the Wheelock River.  But look left from the bridge and this is the view:

I imagine when the canal was built there were Nimbys who didn’t want it destroying their view,  just as there are people today objecting to wind turbines.

A little further I’m on quiet country lanes. To my right fields stretch away:

To my left a little further on was Malkin’s Bank golf course:

By careful aiming I’ve avoided any sign of greens, bunkers, or golfers, because I rather object to golf – takes up a lot of land and is restricted to the priveleged few.  The problem is it now looks like parkland on a private estate – restricted to an even smaller priveleged few.  How about a law requiring all golf courses to have public access through them? 

Soon I saw someone else making their way home.  From the green blazer I think this must be a schoolboy from Sandbach School.  I wonder whether he’s looked about him and appreciated what he’s got?

I’m convinced that English landscapes depend on the human element to make them interesting.  What would the Haywain be if the wagon wasn’t there?  (Now this would be an interesting project if I was any good with photoshop…)

Or what would this landscape be without the industrial element, the hosepipe cleverly crossing the road…

This was a very special ride home, with lovely autumn light that only faded after the sun disappeared dramatically behind this cloud:

So much for dull November days: I hope this wasn’t the last!

About abikerideaday

I like riding my bike about for work and for fun. Having a blog lets me sound off and generally express things. If you like my blog, please pass the address on to other cyclists in the area!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

