Highways and Byways

On my commute to work, there is a three-mile stretch on which I sometimes meet no traffic at all.  This is not because nobody travels between Alsager and Sandbach;  cars just like to use the main road, no matter how much busier it is.  So the little country lanes are left nice and empty.

I have to admit that sometimes I miss the excitement of city commuting and the huge choice of routes that I had when cycling in London.  Here I have about four routes to choose from because there are only four roads.

So sometimes I choose the main road home just because its busier.  London it isn’t, but there are still a few opportunities to glide past lines of waiting cars at the only traffic light on the return journey:

Traffic congestion is not too bad around here, except when there is a problem on the M6 and then the local road network gets gridlocked. This is one of the reasons why so few people cycle: It is just very easy to go by car.  Both Alsager and Sandbach also have free town centre parking – effectively another subsidy for motorists.  I should add that the relatively low cycling rate may  contribute to the courtesy shown by most drivers; it’s only about once a week that I feel the need to shout after a passing vehicle, but perhaps I’m just too tolerant.

A six-mile commute through quiet country lanes:  Aren’t I lucky?

About abikerideaday

I like riding my bike about for work and for fun. Having a blog lets me sound off and generally express things. If you like my blog, please pass the address on to other cyclists in the area!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

