The Only Bike at Tesco

Our quiet rural outpost, Alsager, is not at the cutting edge of anything.  Things do happen here, but only a few years after they have happened elsewhere.  So you won’t be surprised that heads still turn when I go shopping by bike and trailer at the local Kidsgrove Tesco.  After all, Tesco has a carpark, not a bikepark.

The trailer I use is a ….. I’m not very good at remembering brands.  Anyway it’s a trailer.  It attaches to the back axle with a special gadget, and it can carry three large shopping bags, or about the weekly shop for a family of five..  Now and then I overdo the shopping and have to ride home  with something strapped onto the back rack, including one recent occasion when the lucky item was a packet of loo rolls which proceeded to fly off as I hit a pothole and were picked up and returned to me by the strange woman who walks a lot.  See, Alsager does have interesting things happen!

My only criticism of the trailer is the connecting joint, part of which is a thick wire spring to provide flexibility.  This tends to stretch and then contract as I ride along, creating the strange sensation of someone rhythmically  pulling me backwards, and no doubt increasing the work I do by,  at an estimate,  maybe 5%?  I tell myself that this is a good thing.  More exercise per mile.  More bang for my buck, as brash Americans and – God help us – even some British politicians  would say.

Where I lock up at the supermarket I have only once seen another bike.  It was July 2011.  But there is a sad bike lock round a pole waiting touchingly for its bike to come back.  Perhaps one day it will awake to find that the cargo bike revolution has reached our neck of the woods…

About abikerideaday

I like riding my bike about for work and for fun. Having a blog lets me sound off and generally express things. If you like my blog, please pass the address on to other cyclists in the area!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Only Bike at Tesco

  1. Grace says:

    Trailer looks great. I have never seen one, even in Oxford, which is cycle city.

Leave a Reply

