Our Mount Ventoux

Here in South Cheshire people think the terrain is flat.  Well, they’re right. It is.  But here and there we have some lumps and bumps.  Like Mow Cop, where the killer mile  has a 25% section near the top.  Pictures to come later, should I ever venture up there.

I have to confess that my ascents of Mow Cop have been up the ‘easy’ way, from Kidsgrove.   I prefer to view it from a distance, which I can do on my commute home from work.  I suppose there are French cyclists who feel the same about Ventoux.  But I bet their mountain doesn’t have a genuine Victorian fake castle on the top.

Now for the photo quiz.  One picture is of Mow Cop taken from my commute home, the other is of Ventoux from someone else’s:

I find the trouble with hills like these  is that after the slog up them you want  at the very least a ten-mile lovely gentle descent.  No such luck on Mow Cop: You get a very steep and very slow descent clinging onto your brakes.    No wonder a lot of cyclists head into the flatter bits of Cheshire.

About abikerideaday

I like riding my bike about for work and for fun. Having a blog lets me sound off and generally express things. If you like my blog, please pass the address on to other cyclists in the area!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

